Sun God or Sunburnt??

Last week was UCSD’s annual Sun God Festival and it was my first year attending. This year’s lineup consisted of Schoolboy Q, Dj Mustard, Khalid, Manilla Killa, and more! Have to admit, I wasn’t expecting the lineup to be as good as it was but I was very pleased after finding out who was coming to perform. The weather was strangely nice for La Jolla especially considering it’s been raining all weekend just a week after the event. I accidentally forgot to put on sunblock and ended up 2 shades darker with a bit of a burn on my shoulders. I wore a floral embroidered mesh bodysuit and a pair of high waisted denim shorts. I’m thankful I didn’t make too many bathroom stops ’cause bodysuits can be a PAIN sometimes!!

sungod

It was definitely cool seeing the empty field that I walk by everyday get filled with activities and stages… art installations!

IMG_3589P1030140

There was even a waterslide that I regret NOT going on 😦

P1030206

The sweaty crowds of people pushing and shoving is not something I miss… but it was part of the experience….

P1030148

P1030154

It got too hot in the crowd so we went to grab some free refreshments…

P1030202

P1030200

Thank you Vita Coco!!

P1030228

‘Twas the end of Sun God and I grew very hungry. Before heading home, I stopped by Micheline’s Pita House for some chicken shawarma. This place was a bit pricier than what I am used to in Los Angeles but every bite was so mouth watering. I’ll probably be back again whenever I am craving Mediterranean food. All in all, I had a pretty good time at Sun God and I hope next year will be even better. I’ll definitely remember the sunblock next time!

-K

Leave a Reply

