SPRING BREAK FOREVER

I had the fortunate experience to spend this past spring break in the motherland: Taiwan. Aside from the fact that I had 1 day to get over the 15 hr jet lag before returning to school, I had such a blast! I ate so much delicious food everyday and got to travel around the city of Kaohsiung riding on a motor scooter. I loved every second of the trip and seriously wished spring break could’ve been forever.

I woke up bright and early every morning to grab traditional taiwanese breakfast with my mom. It usually consisted of hot soy milk, Chinese donut, fried egg, radish cake, sesame biscuit, and egg crepe. Everything usually came out to be under $5 😮

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

IMG_2630

IMG_2629

On some mornings, when we grew tired of eating the same breakfast we would seek out other taiwanese foods that can easily be found all over town.

IMG_3073

Ba wan (mochi meatball)

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Gua Bao (fatty pork belly bun)

IMG_2658

Rice noodle with pork intestine and pork blood

Here are some other delicious foods I ate…

IMG_2830

Duck rice noodle soup with pork blood

IMG_2829

Stinky tofu is a MUST in Taiwan

IMG_3133

A franchise Hong Kong style steak. I ordered the filet mignon. This place offers unlimited creamed corn soup!

IMG_2622

$1 revolving sushi

IMG_3107

$3 small plates

I typically don’t have a sweet tooth, but when in Rome…

IMG_3077

IMG_2651

Custard/red bean pastries! Only about $0.32 each!

IMG_2654

Peanut and black sesame mochi balls

I know it looks like I just ate my way through the city but I also got some sightseeing done too. I did most of my traveling by scooter, and I spent one day on the island of Ci Jing.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

IMG_3060

ABJR8969

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

IMG_1655

There was also a huge park just 10 minutes away from where I was staying

IMG_1675

IMG_1673

Those 10 days flew by so fast and I was absolutely dreading to come home. Hopefully I’ll be back again soon, but in the mean time… I’ll be at the gym working off all the food I ate 😛

-K

Leave a Reply

